Sample of current work for International Fund for Ireland


1 Response to “Sample of current work for International Fund for Ireland”


  1. 1 julianna December 23, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Dear Adam,
    I recently finished my MA at LCC in Documentary Photography and through-out the year I have always enjoyed your blog and writing. I just noticed your recent project on Northern Ireland and wanted to leave you a suggestion. I grew up in the states but my mother is from Belfast and we always used to go back when I was a kid. But the Belfast that I remember doesn’t exist anymore. The barracks, the British soldiers patrolling, the check point to enter the city center. It is definitely a better place now but my mom and I can’t help but feel that Belfast has lost its magic. Its identity. So many of the cute shops that I used to visit with my grandma have disappeared. I used to visit cousins that lived in Turf Lodge and though I didn’t know it at the time it was one of the roughest neighborhoods in the city. But to me it was alive and full of kids running in and out of each other’s homes. The house still had a coal burning fireplace and it was the only source of heat, there were rumors that at one point it was used as a safe house for the IRA and this house was something forbidden. My mom said that Turf Lodge used to be a safe place where everyone knew everyone but now I think it has changed dramatically. My cousins who lived their all ended up having children before they were 17. It might be interesting to look at this place. To look at the decline of its magic.

    Good Luck,

    Julianna


Leave a Reply

Help Adam!

Please post ideas and locations to help with my current project, Northern Ireland Now, which is looking at society in northern ireland. Also email ideas and suggestions to adam at: adam@adampatterson.net

Archives


